a literary tea party

I’d never come across this parody poem before – thanks, and well blogged!

We'll Eat You Up

I found this poem on a rainy day in my high school library, after checking out a thick dusty book title Parodies. (I was such a nerd! The last time someone had checked out the book was in 1972! I bought the book off the librarian when they decided to revamp their collection…)

You may have to brush up on your classic poets to appreciate the wit of this poem – I sure did! I still don’t catch some of the allusions.
I was most familiar with Poe’s commentary, after his poem, The Bells.  And of course, Robert Burns‘ whiskey-laced offering just makes sense.

It is just as the title describes: All the poets, sitting down to tea, all start waxing eloquent about the kettle and the cups…

The Poets at Tea
by Barry Pain

I. (Macauley, who made it):

Pour, varlet, pour the water,
The water steaming hot!
A spoonful for…

View original post 652 more words

Leave a Reply

